Yangon hosts 10th Mekong Literature Award presentation ceremony

DSC 0046 copy
Chief Minister of Yangon Region U Phyo Min Thein delivers the opening speech at the 10th Mekong Literature Award presentation ceremony in Yangon on 12 October. Photo: Pe Zaw

The 10th Mekong Literature Award presentation ceremony was held at CBC Ball Room of Saya San Plaza in Yangon on 12 October.
At the ceremony, Chief Minister of Yangon Region U Phyo Min Thein said that as the Mekong Literature Award had cemented the friendship among man and woman of letters and the peoples of the region, inclusive involvement was required for the sustainability of this fine tradition.
Chairman of Myanmar Writers Association U Kyaw Win (Manutha Kyaw Win), and chairmen of writers associations of the six Mekong countries, Mr Huu Thinh of Vietnam, Mr Thongbay Phothisane of Laos, Mr Proeung Pranit of Cambodia, Mrs Kanokwalee Kanthiaraj of Thailand and Mr Fan Wen of China (Yunnan,) extended greetings.
The Yangon Region Chief Minister presented awards to writers of Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Thailand and China (Yunnan) and Myanmar writers Po Kyawt of Myanmar (The blood stained soil) and Ko Yoe Kont (Straight and simple shortstories).
In his speech, U Kyaw Win (Manutha Kyaw Win) said that two books from each country were selected for the awards. Myanmar’s actual turn to host the event was last year, but Myanmar transferred with the job to Vietnam at its request, he explained. Under the roster Cambodia would be the host of next year’s event, he added. The Mekong Literature Award served as the bridge among Mekong countries, he noted.
It is the first time Myanmar has held the event. Yangon Region Government provided support for the event held under the motto – “To preserve and promote the unity and fraternity, born of literature.”
The Mekong River Literature Award really is a symbol of solidarity, friendship among literatures in the region, and is consistent with the trend of exchange, cooperation, dialogue among cultures, and it has united fully all the countries in the Mekong river basin. Also present were Speaker of Yangon Region Hluttaw U Tin Maung Tun and Deputy Speaker U Lin Naing Myint, Chief Justice of Yangon Region U Hla Aye, region cabinet members, departmental personnel and guests. — Zaw Gyi
(Translated by TMT)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News