Union Election Commission Chairman receives USA, EU, Canadian ambassadors

IMG 9885 copy
Union Election Commision Chariman U Hla Thein and UEC members hold a meeting with ambassadors from the USA, EU, and Canada at the office of UEC in Nay Pyi Taw yesterday. photo: mna

The Union Election Commission Chairman, U Hla Thein, received Mr. Scot Marciel, Ambassador of the United States of America, Mr. Kristian Schmidt, Ambassador of The European Union, and Mrs. Karen Mac Authur, Ambassador of Canada, at the UEC’s guest hall yesterday afternoon.
During the meeting, the UEC Chairman explained the formation of the Union Election Commission, the success of the 2017 and 2018 by-elections, formation of sub-commissions ongoing capacity building processes, and ongoing strategic planning for general election 2020. Ambassadors, Mr. Jeremy Kruse, the Chargé d’affaires of the Embassy of Australia, and Mr. Joe Rolling from the Embassy of Britain explained about their visits to polling stations and gave recommendations for holding a better general election in 2020. Afterwards, they openly discussed assistance for the 2020 General Elections and other electoral matters.

(Translated by Su Mon Khaing)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News